Growing up in the Universe

Growing Up in the Universe is a series of lectures given by Richard Dawkins as part of the Royal Institution Christmas Lectures, where he discusses the evolution of life in the universe.

The lectures were first broadcast in 1991, in the form of five one-hour episodes, on the BBC in the UK. The Richard Dawkins Foundation for Reason and Science was granted the rights to the televised lectures, and a DVD version was released by the foundation on April 20, 2007.

Part 1: Waking Up in the Universe

Part 2: Designed and Designoid Objects

Part 3: Climbing Mount Improbable

Part 4: The Ultraviolet Garden

Part 5: The Genesis of Purpose

For more information on this series, or to order the DVD, go to

Pageviews this week: